Munich Day 2: Places Where I Blew My Nose

I’ve been suffering from a sinus infection or something all week, so I’ve been inhaling Sudafed and blowing my nose constantly. I almost didn’t go on this trip because I was sick but I thought I might as well.

By the way, day 1 was Tuesday, day 2 is Wednesday, and I’m publishing on Saturday/Sunday because I don’t have my computer to link my photos.

Today began with the Englischer Garten. It’s a huge park behind the Haus der Kunst with a famous Biergarten. It was 10 am but I was still a bit miffed that the Biergarten wasn’t open.

Englischer Garten, Munich

A post shared by Stadden Sasha Höfgen (@stadden1) on

10 a.m. and the Biergarten is closed? Lazy Europeans

A post shared by Stadden Sasha Höfgen (@stadden1) on

Montoperos, Englischer Garten

A post shared by Stadden Sasha Höfgen (@stadden1) on

But Stadden, says the twelve-year-old white girl in you, shouldn’t you not be drinking while on Sudafed? Yes, you’re correct! It may cause dizziness and liver damage if I drink too much. But the first thing my mind thought, and this is not a joke, when I saw the words “liver damage” were “oh, well, it’s just my liver”. I may be subconsciously more of a Schnappsdrossel than I thought.

So first I go to the Japanese teahouse. I really, really want one in my back yard when I grow up and own my own large Russian farm in the Urals, complete with my own serfs. So this was nice, plus it had hilarious ducks, which liked me petting them.

Japanese tea house, Englischer Garten

A post shared by Stadden Sasha Höfgen (@stadden1) on

Then there’s the Chinese Tower with the Biergarten, which I had only seen in my German courses. Again, lazy Europeans, not opening until 13h.

Chinese Tower, Englischer Garten

A post shared by Stadden Sasha Höfgen (@stadden1) on

I kept wandering, blowing my nose under the Chinese Tower and next to the lake, and in the U-Bahn as I searched for a post office, where I received a strange gift with my €,60 purchase of postage:

I sent someone a letter for €,60 and received 6000 trippy post-it notes as a free gift #Germany #why

A post shared by Stadden Sasha Höfgen (@stadden1) on

I realised that the Scholl siblings came from Munich, and that I happened to be right next to the memorial in the Ludwig-Maximilians University. I rushed off to see it and found that I recognised the building of the University from the movie  Die letzten Tage von Sophie Scholl, and that this is the place in which they handed out their anti-Nazi leaflets before they were arrested and guillotined. The memorial was closed, but it’s very very strange as a coincidence that I just happened to be there one day before the 75th anniversary of their executions, which I found out the next day while browsing Reddit in Prague.

Since the memorial was closed, I blew my nose in the washroom (very weak security for a University; I waltzed right in and out) and began wandering. I happened across the Siegestor, with its very clever words at the top: „Dem Sieg geweiht, vom Krieg zerstört, zum Frieden mahnend“.

Siegestor, Munich

A post shared by Stadden Sasha Höfgen (@stadden1) on

I also bought some Bavarian playing cards, since I’m a huge fan of foreign and obscure card games, before happening across Walking Man, by Jonathan Borofsky, which I had only seen in art books until now.

Munich

A post shared by Stadden Sasha Höfgen (@stadden1) on

Nationaltheater, Munich

A post shared by Stadden Sasha Höfgen (@stadden1) on

Next I spent a few hours at the Residenz. To be honest, some people are just too rich. There was a fountain covered in a mosaic of sea shells, sickeningly ornate baroque decorations, Ming and Qing porcelain, Japanese porcelain, a private cathedral, etc. Because I hate being an American tourist, I opted for the French audioguide again.

Hall of Roman statues, Residenz, Munich

A post shared by Stadden Sasha Höfgen (@stadden1) on

Roman emperors, Residenz, Munich

A post shared by Stadden Sasha Höfgen (@stadden1) on

I went home to self-medicate after blowing my nose beside portraits of Ludwig I and others, and decided to explore the neighbourhood I’m in, which is slightly out of the centre. It’s a very nice, very clean, almost quaint city and you forget it’s got almost two million people, according to a Hungarian I met there.

After blowing my nose at Wiener Platz while foraging in vain for food, I decided to explore the centre some more.

I ended up at some brewery with traditional Bavarian music (score!) playing. I am a huge, huge fan of old German music so I was in heaven. I kept having to blow my nose in the washroom for “Buam” while eating a gigantic hamburger. Now, you ask, if I hate being a tourist, why a hamburger? For one thing, it’s been two months since I ate one. Second, it was Bavarian beef with Bavarian bacon, Bavarian cheese, and Bavarian sauces. Third, it’s technically a German sandwich in origin, hence the name. It was incredibly messy and I wasn’t sure if it was worse to eat with my hands or use the provided steak knife like a prude, but eventually I used a knife and fork. The waiter nodded at me like “oh, look who figured it out” as he walked by in his Lederhosen.

Today, I am understanding everything in German, since it only took me a day to adjust to a new accent and hearing some words they taught us were only used in the South anyway, like Grüß Gott, which everyone, and I mean everyone, actually uses. I thought they were joking in my textbook, or that it was outdated. Nope, everyone still uses it.

I said “servus” for the first time in my life as I left the restaurant and headed to the Bavaria statue. It’s enormous, and houses Ludwig I’s hall of fame of famous Germans, which I was unable to access.

Bavaria statute, Munich

A post shared by Stadden Sasha Höfgen (@stadden1) on

Famous Germans, Bavaria statue, Munich

A post shared by Stadden Sasha Höfgen (@stadden1) on

Bavaria statue, Munich

A post shared by Stadden Sasha Höfgen (@stadden1) on

I rushed back to my area after blowing my nose next to a few babushkas on the S-Bahn, since there was a German conversation meetup, and I wanted to get used to southern German. A hilarious and useful word I learnt was “zugeritter”, literally “to-rider”, meaning someone from anywhere else who has moved to where you live. It’s not negative, and merely means you have moved to your present location, even if it’s the next town over.

Unfortunately I was at the middle of a long booth, which made blowing my nose difficult. I said adieu early, as I needed to self-medicate again and plan for Prague, and leave my room at 6h30 to get on the bus to Czechia.

I’m feeling better, thanks for asking.

Leave a Reply

